Clear all

IEEE 802 Family

1 Posts
1 Users
Posts: 60
Trusted Member
Topic starter

The IEEE 802 family of standards encompasses a wide range of networking technologies and protocols that define how devices communicate and operate within local area networks (LANs) and metropolitan area networks (MANs). Here's an overview of some key IEEE 802 standards within this family:

  1. IEEE 802.3 (Ethernet):

    • Defines the standards for Ethernet networks, including physical layer (PHY) specifications such as twisted pair, fiber optic, and wireless variants.
    • Includes protocols for Media Access Control (MAC) and various physical layer technologies (e.g., 10 Mbps, 100 Mbps, 1 Gbps, 10 Gbps Ethernet).
  2. IEEE 802.11 (Wi-Fi):

    • Specifies standards for wireless LANs (Wi-Fi).
    • Defines protocols for wireless communication in different frequency bands (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz).
    • Includes standards for security (e.g., WPA, WPA2, WPA3) and quality of service (QoS) enhancements.
  3. IEEE 802.1 (Higher Layer LAN Protocols):

    • Covers higher-layer LAN protocols and standards related to network management, bridging, and traffic management.
    • Includes standards like VLANs (802.1Q), network bridging (802.1D), and network management (802.1X).
  4. IEEE 802.15 (Wireless Personal Area Networks - WPANs):

    • Specifies standards for wireless personal area networks, including technologies like Bluetooth and Zigbee.
    • Defines protocols for low-power, short-range wireless communication.
  5. IEEE 802.16 (Wireless Broadband):

    • Defines standards for wireless broadband access in MANs.
    • Often referred to as WiMAX, it provides high-speed wireless connectivity over longer distances than Wi-Fi.
  6. IEEE 802.22 (Wireless Regional Area Networks - WRANs):

    • Specifies standards for wireless regional area networks, aiming to provide broadband wireless access over longer ranges in rural and underserved areas.
  7. IEEE 802.1X (Port-Based Network Access Control):

    • Defines a standard for port-based network access control, providing authentication and authorization mechanisms to secure Ethernet networks.

These are just a few examples of the many standards within the IEEE 802 family, each addressing different aspects of network communication, management, and security. These standards are crucial for ensuring interoperability, reliability, and performance in modern network infrastructures across various industries and applications.

Posted : 25/06/2024 9:57 am